We had the good fortune of connecting with Habeeb/Deji Ogungbade and we’ve shared our conversation below.

Hi Deji, can you tell us more about your background and the role it’s played in shaping who you are today?
I’m Nigerian by decent, born and raised in Houston, Tx. We lived in Alief then moved to the Southwest part of Houston where we resided for years. My parents came to the United States in their 20s and paved the way for us with help from family and the supporting community. They started from the ground up, grinding as they hustled until they became stable with 4 beautiful kids. I fell at number 3, 3 boys and one girl. We thrived until I was in high school where medical complications dramatically impacted the direction of our lives. From 2016 to now, My mother has passed from advanced lupus on my sister’s bday, my brother died from alcohol poisoning in his sleep, and my dad has had 4 stroke leaving him in a nursing home. It’s safe to say I’ve been through my fair share which is why I used music as a healthy outlet. Mental health is everything. I’ll be storytelling and putting together creative pieces to explain who I was, who I am, and who I want to be. It’s not all serious though. There are some fun and relatable pieces incorporated in my work. . Pray and Push is my motto; sometimes when your back is against the wall, it’s all you can do. With the help of God and my sister, my best friend, we pushed through to make it to where we are now. Just being me, evolving and sharing!

Let’s talk shop? Tell us more about your career, what can you share with our community?
I am a Physical Therapist Assistant (3 years) and a Clinical Liaison in Sugar land, Tx. My original plan was to get my doctorate in physical therapy but along my plan, my mother’s lupus had progressed and my father had 2 strokes by the time i graduated from the University of Houston. I chose the fastest route to a degree by going or my PTA degree after I graduated with my BS from the University of Houston. The program was a year and a half long, but took me an extra year due to my mother passing. I was out of school a while but was determined to finish and establish myself. I worked multiple jobs to grind through the program while also paying for some of my tuition out of pocket. I graduated in 2017 and have been grinding since. I want people to know that regardless of circumstance, there’s another gear you can tap into to make it through. Protect your mental, find sustainable joy, and pray. Tough people last forever, tough times do not.

If you had a friend visiting you, what are some of the local spots you’d want to take them around to?
If my friends were visiting Houston for a week, I’d make it an adventure. Depending on was going and what the interests were, I’d incorporate bars and lounges, a drive to he beach, the mall, local gyms for the hoop competition, and music scenes that have a nice vibe in the evenings. I am chill, but every so often I enjoy a nice view and music. I’d definitely take them to a Rocket’s game, and to wherever the night went from there!

The Shoutout series is all about recognizing that our success and where we are in life is at least somewhat thanks to the efforts, support, mentorship, love and encouragement of others. So is there someone that you want to dedicate your shoutout to?
I would definitely shoutout God, my sister and oldest brother, as well as my many musical influences from from the 70s R&B/Hip Hop to the present, There’s so much to learn from the past and present. Why not mix it all?

Website: https://linktr.ee/ChiefDejotheStoryteller

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/chief_dejo/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/deji.ogungbade/

Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcOVoJ4ifgWcnjl5HsPYvAQ

Image Credits
Macanthony.studios on IG ShotbyTony on IG

Nominate Someone: ShoutoutHTX is built on recommendations and shoutouts from the community; it’s how we uncover hidden gems, so if you or someone you know deserves recognition please let us know here.